Italian Croutons

I know it’s not that expensive to buy croutons but I think it’s fun to make them yourself.  Especially if you have some old bread to use up.  Or if you just want to.  Just because.  You don’t always have to have some great reason for doing stuff, right?

Salad season is fast approaching and if you want to add a little more flavor and crunch, try making these Italian Croutons.  It’s super easy and tasty!

Italian Croutons

 

Italian Croutons
from Taste of Home

Ingredients
3 slices Italian bread, cubed
butter-flavored cooking spray
1 t Italian seasoning
1 t garlic powder

What To Do
Spritz bread cubes with butter-flavored spray; place in a bowl. Sprinkle with Italian seasoning and garlic powder; toss to coat evenly.

Transfer to a 15-in. x 10-in. x 1-in. baking pan coated with cooking spray. Bake at 450° for 8-10 minutes or until golden brown, stirring once or twice. Cool.

My Comments
I had part of an old baguette so used that.  I ended up with about 2 cups of bread cubes.  I’ve also used sourdough bread.

I didn’t have butter-flavored spray…just used what I had, which was canola oil cooking spray.

I also didn’t have any garlic powder so left that out.

I tried this two ways – one with spraying the bread cubes and the other I tried tossing the cubes in olive oil.  Spraying was much easier and more evenly coated the bread cubes, which made it easier to evenly coat with Italian seasoning.

I lined my cookie sheet with foil and sprayed that.  Nothing stuck – hooray!

I baked mine at 350ºF for about 10 minutes.  I think the higher temperature would have burned them in no time, considering my oven and the size of my bread cubes.

Some Photos Along the Way
Cutting bread into cubes (I did trim some of the crust off)
Italian Croutons

Bread cubes sprayed and tossed with seasoningItalian Croutons

Spread out on lined/sprayed cookie sheetItalian Croutons

Italian Croutons

Italian Croutons!Italian Croutons

 

One reason I like this recipe, and homemade croutons in general, is because you can adapt to your liking.  You can use different seasonings and if you like crunchier croutons, just leave them in the oven longer…or not as long if you don’t like them super crunchy.  You can make larger or smaller batches too, depending on what you want.

I’m looking forward to some tasty salads this summer! How about you?

Have a great week!

 

3 thoughts on “Italian Croutons

Leave a Comment

