Upside-Down Strawberry Shortcake

Strawberry season will be here soon!  I had been craving this Upside-Down Strawberry Shortcake for a couple of weeks and, thankfully, had some sliced berries in the freezer from last year so only had to wait for some free time to bake this up.  Oh, it smells so good as it bakes! You’ll definitely want a piece (or two or three) of this delicious cake!

 

Upside-Down Strawberry Shortcake

 

 

Upside-Down Strawberry Shortcake
I have no idea where I got this recipe from.  I cut it out back in college and try to make it at least once when strawberries are in season.  So sorry, I don’t know who to give credit to…just know that I did not make this up!

Ingredients
1 c miniature marshmallows
1 pkg (16-oz) frozen sweetened slice strawberries, thawed
1 pkg (3-oz) strawberry gelatin
1/2 c shortening
1 1/2 c sugar
3 eggs, room temperature
1 t vanilla extract
2 1/4 c all-purpose flour
3 t baking powder
1/2 t salt
1 c milk, room temperature
optional (I highly recommend): fresh strawberries and whipped cream

What To Do
Preheat oven to 350ºF.

Sprinkle marshmallows evenly into a greased 9″ x 13″ x 2″ baking dish and set aside.

In a bowl, combine strawberries and gelatin powder and set aside.

In a mixing bowl, cream shortening and sugar.  Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Beat in vanilla.

Combine flour, baking powder and salt.  Add to creamed mixture alternately with milk.

Pour batter over the marshmallows.

Spoon strawberry mixture evenly over batter.

Bake at 350°F for 45-50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.  Cool on a wire rack.

Cut into squares and garnish with fresh berries and whipped cream.

My Comments
I don’t sweeten my strawberries when I freeze them and don’t add sugar to them when I thaw them out.

I sift the flour, baking powder and salt together.

As you can see, I topped mine with whipped cream and slivered almonds.  I also like whipped cream and mini chocolate chips on top!

Some Photos Along the Way
Upside-Down Strawberry Shortcake

Upside-Down Strawberry Shortcake

Upside-Down Strawberry Shortcake

Upside-Down Strawberry Shortcake

Upside-Down Strawberry Shortcake

Upside-Down Strawberry Shortcake

 

How cool is that? The marshmallows and strawberries trade places while baking! This really has turned my world upside-down! In a good way :).

Here’s to a super strawberry-licious summer! It can’t get here soon enough!

2 thoughts on “Upside-Down Strawberry Shortcake

  1. Matt says:

    Love the topping versatility… goes well with fresh strawberries, whipped cream, chocolate, ice cream, or some combination thereof 🙂

Leave a Comment

