Kale Pesto

I know I didn’t share much about my garden this year but I did put one in and it’s doing well so far.  In fact, I have a barrel full of kale!

Kale Pesto

Kale is one of the first things I transferred from indoors to outdoors and it took off.  This is the first year I’ve planted it in a barrel.  I threw in a couple nasturtiums too but they haven’t flowered yet.  I like it in the barrel as it leaves more space in my garden for other stuff.  And yes, I still had to cover it to protect it from those pesky squirrels!

Anyway, with a bunch of kale to harvest, I made this Kale Pesto.  It uses a good amount of kale, which was exactly what I wanted.  I was a bit skeptical but it turned out great and has so many uses!  I’ve heard you can freeze it too but I’ve not tried that yet.

Kale Pesto

Kale Pesto
from Weelicious

Ingredients
2 cups packed kale leaves
1/2 cup toasted walnuts
2 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese
1 garlic clove, roughly chopped
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 cup
olive oil

What To Do
Place all of the ingredients in a food processor and puree until smooth.

Serve over rice, pasta or as a sandwich spread.

Note: If you don’t have toasted walnuts, you can easily make them. Just spread roughly chopped walnuts on a baking sheet and pop in a 400°F oven for five minutes.

My Comments
I toasted my walnuts in the toaster oven and also put the 1 clove of garlic in as well.

I did trim the kale – the stems and also the stem part that’s in the leafy part – what is that called? A rib? I’m not sure…

You can adjust this recipe to your taste.  I might add more garlic and a touch less lemon juice next time.

Some Photos Along the Way
Kale Pesto

Kale Pesto

Kale Pesto

Kale Pesto

Kale Pesto

 

YUM! This Kale Pesto is quite tasty.  You can use it as pasta sauce, pizza sauce, sandwich spread, dip, I’ve read it’s good on chicken and even fish.  I’m looking forward to trying it in different ways.  I’ve also read that you can substitute sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, pine nuts and almonds for the walnuts.  This is a fun recipe to experiment with.

Oh and I’m sure you know this, but kale is super good for you!!!

Hooray for a simple, quick, healthy recipe that can be used in multiple ways! Have a wonderful weekend!

One thought on “Kale Pesto

Leave a Comment

