Kale & Bacon Quiche with Hash Brown Crust

So I only planted 3 kale plants this year thinking that would be a good amount for 2 people and maybe share some…but wow, those 3 have really gone all out this summer and I have found myself looking for ways to use it all up.

Enter this Kale & Bacon Quiche with Hash Brown Crust.  I happened to have all the ingredients and it looked really good so thought I’d give it a try.  And hooray! Success! We ate it as dinner and then had leftovers for breakfast.  It was great both times.
Kale and Bacon Quiche

Kale & Bacon Quiche with Hash Brown Crust
from Iowa Girl Eats

Ingredients
3 c frozen hash browns, thawed
3 T butter, melted and slightly cooled
salt and pepper
1/4 lb bacon, chopped
1 T extra virgin olive oil
1/2 small onion, chopped
2 c chopped kale
2 garlic cloves, minced
4 eggs
1 c milk
1 c shredded gruyere cheese (see “My Comments” for what I used)

What To Do
Preheat oven to 450ºF. Press hash browns between 3-4 paper towels to remove excess moisture. Add hash browns to a 9″ pie pan with melted butter, salt, and pepper, then mix and press evenly into the bottom and up the sides. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until hash browns are golden brown around the edges. Remove then set aside and turn oven down to 350ºF.

Meanwhile, cook bacon in a large skillet over medium heat until crisp. Remove to a paper towel-lined plate to drain then discard bacon grease.

Add extra virgin olive oil to skillet then add onions and saute until translucent, 3-4 minutes. Add kale, season with salt and pepper, then saute until tender, 4-5 minutes. Add garlic and saute for 30 more seconds. Set mixture aside to cool slightly.

Whisk together eggs, milk, salt, and pepper in a large bowl. Add shredded cheese, cooked bacon, and mixture then stir to combine. Pour mixture over hash brown crust then bake for 30-35 minutes, or until top is light brown. Let sit for 10 minutes before slicing and serving.

My Comments
For the hash browns, I used southern style – the kind that looks like little cubes.  Iowa Girl Eats used the stringy looking kind.

For the cheese, I used part cheddar and part mozzarella.

I did not press the thawed hash browns between paper towels but did dab them a little before mixing them with the melted butter.

I measured out 2 cups of PACKED chopped kale, meaning I stuffed as much into the measuring cup as I could.  It cooks down a lot.

I happened to have some bacon that Matt had previously cooked but if I had to cook the bacon, I would just leave some of the grease and cook the onions/kale/garlic in it rather than put in olive oil.  That’s just me, though.

Some Photos Along the Way
Kale and Bacon Quiche

Kale and Bacon Quiche

Kale and Bacon Quiche

Kale and Bacon Quiche

Kale and Bacon Quiche

Kale and Bacon Quiche

I bet it would be fun to make miniature versions of this too in a muffin tin.  It’d be great for brunch or any little gathering.  I love using hash browns as the crust and what a great idea if you have someone with gluten issues.

I hope your week is off to a great start! If life gives you kale this week, I hope you make quiche! 🙂

One thought on “Kale & Bacon Quiche with Hash Brown Crust

Leave a Comment

