S’more Granola Bars

For a lot of people, summer means travel.  Whether it’s a weekend getaway or a road trip across the country or even a trip overseas, you’ll need sustenance.  I’m only going a couple hours away for a day and felt the need to have snacks ready.  I know I’m not the only snack packer out there.  I love a good snack.  Snacks keep you going.  And these S’more Granola Bars hit the spot for sure.  I’ve made these a few times now and have loved them each time.

Gooey marshmallows, chocolate and graham crackers all in a easy-to-pack, easy-to-eat bar.  What more could you ask for when you’re on the go?

 

S'more Granola Bars

 

S’more Granola Bars
from The King Arthur Flour Baker’s Companion

Ingredients
6 T unsalted butter
1/4 c firmly packed light brown sugar
6 T golden syrup, maple syrup or dark corn syrup
2 1/4 c rolled oats
1/2 c unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 t salt
1 c graham cracker crumbs
1 c semisweet or bittersweet chocolate chips
1 1/4 c miniature marshmallows or 1 c marshmallow creme

What To Do
In a medium-sized saucepan set over medium heat, melt and stir together the butter, sugar and syrup, cooking until the sugar has dissolved.

Stir in the oats, flour, salt and graham crackers crumbs.

Press slightly more than half of the mixture into a lightly greased 9×9-inch pan.  Let cool completely.

Preheat the oven to 350ºF.  Sprinkle the chocolate chips evenly over the top, then the marshmallows.  If using marshmallow creme, oil your fingers and a spoon and drop by teaspoonfuls evenly over the chocolate chips.

Top with the remaining crust mixture.  Bake the bars for 15-20 minutes.  Remove from the oven and let them rest for 20 minutes, then cut into squares while still slightly warm.

My Comments
For the syrup, I used maple syrup.

I used miniature M-n-M’s instead of chocolate chips, just because…

I lined my baking dish with foil so it’d be easy to take the bars out and then slice them with a large knife.  I sprayed the foil with non-stick cooking spray.

I let mine rest for more than 20 minutes – it still seems pretty hot so I waited.  I still didn’t get a super clean cut but these taste so good, I don’t really care!

Some Photos Along the Way
S'more Granola Bars

S'more Granola Bars

S'more Granola Bars

S'more Granola Bars

S'more Granola Bars

 

I can’t wait to eat these and am so happy they’ll be available to munch on during my tiny little excursion.  Happy snacking, my friends!!

Leave a Comment

