BLT Bites

Ahhhh….nothing says summer like a good BLT on a warm evening.  Slice a big red juicy tomato from the garden, add some tasty bacon and lettuce between some great bread and voila – a simple sandwich that is amazing.  Well, sometimes you don’t have a big red juicy tomato from the garden and sometimes you need something cute to take to a party.  These BLT Bites are as cute as can be and deliver that awesome punch of summer flavors.

I’ve made these a couple of times and they were a hit at both events.  Most recently, I took them to my family reunion.  They were gone in no time.  I heard several people saying how much they enjoyed them and one of my uncles even asked me to bring them again next year. Wow!

BLT Bites

BLT Bites
slightly adapted from Taste of Home

Ingredients
about 20-25 cocktail tomatoes
1 pound of sliced bacon, cooked and crumbled
1/2 c mayonnaise
1/3 c green onions
3 T of grated parmesan cheese
a little bit of shredded lettuce to garnish the tops

What To Do
Cut a thin slice off the bottom of each tomato so they can stand up. Slice the top off.  Scoop out and discard pulp. Invert the tomatoes on a paper towel to drain.

In a small bowl, combine the remaining ingredients. Spoon into tomatoes. Refrigerate for several hours.  Top with shredded lettuce before serving.

(the filling can be made ahead of time and refrigerated until needed – I made mine the day before stuffing the tomatoes)

My Comments
The original recipe says to use cherry tomatoes but I think those are too small.  I found cocktail tomatoes at the store and they were just right.

You can save the tomato “guts” to throw in chili or soup later on.  Freeze now, then thaw when ready to use.

Both times I’ve made these, I ended up using more than 1/2 a cup of mayo.  I suggest starting with the 1/2 cup then adding more as desired.

Also, I’ve used less than 1/3 cup of green onions.  That just seemed like a lot to me so I just used what I wanted to throw in.

For the parmesan cheese, I did not use the stuff that comes in a green can.  I highly recommend grating your own.  The flavor is so much better!

You can top the BLT Bites with shredded lettuce a few hours ahead of time.  Just don’t do it too early and end up with lettuce that doesn’t look so good.

This time, I had 26 cocktail tomatoes and had some leftover stuffing.  Maybe 3 or 4 tablespoons leftover.

Some Photos Along the Way
BLT Bites

BLT Bites

BLT Bites

BLT Bites

BLT Bites

 

Miniature food is just so darn cute.  But don’t let size fool you.  These are mighty in flavor.  Perfect for summer gatherings, these little appetizers are sure to please.  I hope you give them a try this summer.  It will be one bite you won’t forget.

 

2 thoughts on “BLT Bites

Leave a Comment

