Banana Granola

Summer produce is everywhere right now.  I know I’ve been a busy little bee putting up various tomato-based foods and pepper-based foods and peach-based foods up for future consumption.  If you’re like me, you kinda forget about food for now.  Case in point, some very ripe bananas “suddenly” appeared on the counter.  What? Bananas were not on my list of “produce to do something with now.”

Well, this granola recipe came to my rescue.  I didn’t want to make anything to put in the freezer because well, my freezer was well on its way to being full.  Plus, I was getting ready for a weekend getaway with a couple girl friends so I thought this would be a great snack to take along.  And you all know how I like snacks!

Turned out this was the perfect way to use the neglected bananas.  Poor little bananas…I’m so sorry I forgot about you…but not really, because this granola = a delicious snack to take on the go, whether on a trip out of town or to your desk at work or you know, it’s back-to-school season…it’d be great to give your kids too.

 

Banana Granola

 

Banana Granola
from Two Peas and Their Pod

Ingredients
3 cups old fashioned oats
1 cup chopped walnuts (see My Comments below)
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 large ripe banana, mashed (1/2 cup)
1/4 cup melted coconut oil (see My Comments below)
1/4 cup pure maple syrup
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup mini chocolate chips (optional)

What To Do
Preheat oven to 350ºF. Line a large baking sheet with a Silpat baking mat or parchment paper. Set aside.

In a large bowl, combine oats, walnuts, salt, and cinnamon. Stir to combine.

In a medium bowl, combined mashed banana, coconut oil, maple syrup, brown sugar, and vanilla extract. Pour liquid mixture over oat mixture and stir until oats are coated. Spread evenly on prepared baking sheet.

Bake granola for 25-30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove from oven and cool granola completely on baking sheet. The granola will crisp up as it cools. When granola is completely cooled, stir in the chocolate chips, if using. Store in an airtight container or glass jar with a lid for up to two weeks.

My Comments
I didn’t have walnuts…I used a mixture of chopped pecans and slivered almonds.

I didn’t have any coconut oil either so used regular vegetable oil.

I lined my tray with foil and sprayed it with non-stick cooking spray.

Some Photos Along the Way
Banana Granola

Banana Granola

Banana Granola

 

I made another batch and am munching on it now as I share this with you.  I think I’m going to add some mini chocolate chips now.  Have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “Banana Granola

Leave a Comment

