Black Bean and Sweet Potato Chili

Hello out there! I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted a recipe and I do apologize! I’ve just been busy busy busy and well, this happens every fall.  There’s just so much to do outside and I’ve been trying to get it all done before it gets cold and stays cold.

Something fun: I’m going to get to expand my garden space next year!!! Matt & I have been busy preparing new beds and I’m over-the-moon excited!

BUT, we do have to eat in the meantime, right? Well, here’s a chili recipe that’s nutritious and delicious and doesn’t really take that much time.  I made it today in the midst of working in the yard.  This recipe is a great way to celebrate sweet potatoes and also use up any lingering tomatoes.  It’s full of flavor and is very comforting, especially after a long laborious day.  Don’t let the long list of ingredients scare you off, it’s not that bad, really!

Black Bean and Sweet Potato Chili

Black Bean and Sweet Potato Chili
I have no idea where I got this recipe from…it’s a copy from a cookbook, it’s on page 208 but I have no idea what cookbook it’s from!

Ingredients
2 T extra-virgin olive oil
1 medium red onion, chopped
1 red pepper, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 t sea salt
1 large sweet potato, cut into 1/2″ cubes
zest and juice of 1 lime
1 can (28 oz) diced tomatoes (or use straight from the garden)
4 cans (15 oz each) black beans, rinsed and drained
1 jalapeño chili pepper, seeded and chopped
1 T cumin
1 T chili powder
1 t cocoa powder
1 lime, cut into wedges
1 c chopped cilantro leaves, washed and dried

What To Do
1 – Warm the oil in a large pan over medium heat and add the onion, red pepper, garlic and salt.  Saute until soft, about 4 minutes.

2 – Add the sweet potato and lime zest, cook 10-15 minutes more, stirring occasionally.

3 – Add the tomatoes, black beans, jalapeño, lime juice, cumin, chili powder and cocoa, bring to a simmer, cover, and cook for 10 minutes.

4 – Serve over brown rice with lime wedges and cilantro.

My Comments
If you don’t want to use canned black beans, use 6 cups of freshly cooked beans.

I left the jalapeño out.

Don’t let it go too long between stirs – mine got a little stuck on the bottom of the pan, but thankfully it came off when I added the tomatoes.  Just don’t let anything burn! 🙂

This should freeze well, I’m going to put a couple individual portions in the freezer to enjoy later.

Some Photos Along the Way
Some ingredients
Black Bean and Sweet Potato Chili

The black beans rinsed and draining
Black Bean and Sweet Potato Chili

Step 1
Black Bean and Sweet Potato Chili

Step 2
Black Bean and Sweet Potato Chili

The ingredients of steps 1 and 2 mixed together
Black Bean and Sweet Potato Chili

Step 3
Black Bean and Sweet Potato Chili

 

I hope you all are enjoying this fall season.  There are so many wonderful foods to enjoy, like sweet potatoes! Have a great rest of your week!

2 thoughts on “Black Bean and Sweet Potato Chili

  1. Matt says:

    Nothing better than chili in the fall 🙂 Well, maybe chili with s’mores… or pie… or hot chocolate… or all of the above 🙂

Leave a Comment

