Linguine with Sausage and Mushrooms

AHHHHH! I, like many of you, woke up to snow this morning! I knew it was in the forecast, but I guess I just was hoping it wouldn’t come true.  I mean, snow before Thanksgiving? I’ve never dreamt of a white Thanksgiving.  Or a white Saturday before Thanksgiving.

But alas, it’s out there.  And I need comfort.  And a big bowl of this Linguine with Sausage and Mushrooms with a side of toasted bread is just what the doctor ordered.  And by doctor, I mean me.  Nothing says comfort like pasta!

 

Linguine with Sausage and Mushrooms

 

Linguine with Sausage and Mushrooms
from the Dec 2012 issue of Food Network Magazine

Ingredients
Kosher salt
12 oz linguine
1 T extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 lb sweet Italian sausage, casings removed
1 small onion, chopped
1 stalk celery, thinly sliced
1/2 lb sliced mixed mushrooms
2 cloves garlic, chopped
4 plum tomatoes, chopped
1/2 c dry white wine or chicken broth
2/3 c heavy cream
3 T chopped fresh parsley
Freshly ground pepper

What To Do
Bring a pot of salted water to a boil; add the pasta and cook as the label directs.  Reserve 1 cup of the cooking water, then drain the pasta.

Meanwhile, heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add the sausage and cook, stirring, until browned, 3 minutes.  Increase the heat to high; add the onion, celery and mushrooms and cook, stirring, until tender, 4 minutes.  Add the garlic and cook 1 minute.

Reduce the heat to medium-high; add the tomatoes and wine/broth and cook, stirring occasionally, until the liquid is reduced by half, about 5 minutes.  Add the cream and cook until slightly thickened, about 4 minutes.  Stir in the parsley and reduce the heat to low.

Add the pasta to the skillet and cook, tossing, until it absorbs some of the sauce, 2 to 3 minutes.  Add some of the reserved pasta cooking water to loosen, if necessary.  Season with salt and pepper.

My Comments
The store I buy Italian sausage at sells it in 1 lb bulk packages so there’s no casing to remove.  I love it! It’s easy to divide in half too.

For the mushrooms, I used part baby bellas and part cremini.

I didn’t have fresh parsley so used 1.5 T dried parsley.

My skillet conducts/holds heat really well and I never cook above medium heat or else the food will burn.

Some Photos Along the Way
Chopped up ingredients: mushrooms, celery, garlic, tomato, onion
Linguine with Sausage and Mushrooms

The pasta cooking
Linguine with Sausage and Mushrooms

The sausage has been cooked and the mushrooms, celery and onion just added
Linguine with Sausage and Mushrooms

Now the garlic has been added
Linguine with Sausage and Mushrooms

Add the tomato and wine/broth.  I used wine.
Linguine with Sausage and Mushrooms

Add the cream
Linguine with Sausage and Mushrooms

Add the parsley
Linguine with Sausage and Mushrooms

The cooked linguine tossed with the sausage and mushroom mixture
Linguine with Sausage and Mushrooms

 

This pasta dish has wonderful flavor and really is comforting to eat.  I hope you have a wonderful and comforting weekend!

2 thoughts on “Linguine with Sausage and Mushrooms

Leave a Comment

