Flour Tortilla Chips

Happy Monday!

Over the weekend I had the opportunity to try a couple new things.  I love getting to try new things, especially when they are food-related and especially when they turn out well.  These homemade tortilla chips (well, maybe semi-homemade) have been on my mind for quite some time now and I needed a quick appetizer for a dinner party so decided to try it out.

They turned out great!!! I just munched on some leftover chips and am sad that there are only a few left.  I will have to make more soon.

These chips are quick and easy and so light and crisp.  I love them! Maybe even more than normal tortilla chips from the store!  I served them with some Roasted Eggplant Spread that I had made a couple months ago (with eggplants from my garden!) and everyone loved it!  I am so thankful for a freezer in which to store such yummy goodness!

Flour Tortilla Chips

Flour Tortilla Chips
from combining various methods I found online

Ingredients
flour tortillas
olive oil
kosher salt

What To Do
Preheat oven to 350ºF.

Now there are a couple ways to go about this.  You will need to cut the flour tortilla into triangles.  I chose to cut out 8 pieces.  You will also need to lightly brush olive oil on each piece.  So, you can brush the entire tortilla then cut, or cut then brush.  Totally up to you.  I started out cutting one tortilla at a time then brushing, but then decided to brush, stack, then cut so I was cutting 3 brushed tortillas at the same time.  Again, up to you.

Place each brushed triangle on a parchment-lined cookie sheet and sprinkle with salt.  Bake for 10 minutes, or until edges are lightly browned.

Remove from oven and let cool before storing in an airtight container.

Enjoy with or without something to dip them in or with or without something piled on top of them (I’m thinking nachos!).

Some Photos Along the Way
Cutting the tortilla
Flour Tortilla Chips

Brush with olive oil and sprinkle with salt
Flour Tortilla Chips

Fresh out of the oven
Flour Tortilla Chips

Enjoy!
Flour Tortilla Chips

 

This is a busy time of year so if you need something quick, try out these chips.  I bet you could use a cookie cutter to make festive shapes to take to a party or even leave for Santa.  They are delicious!

Have a great week!

Leave a Comment

